Re: WHO RECORDED YOUR RECORDS?

So did you all play live or do the separate tracks individually (if that makes sense)?
I know the Scrolls bash everything out in 20 mins for example

Yeah cheap kick drum mics make the bass drum sound proper shit... One trick on a kick drum is to use a speaker as a mic... trust me this works. Also play around with mic placings... the guy who recorded the ATM album miced the drum kit in a massive room using the mics two feet or more away from the kit... made the drums sound huge!

missingmong wrote:

Yeah cheap kick drum mics make the bass drum sound proper shit... One trick on a kick drum is to use a speaker as a mic... trust me this works. Also play around with mic placings... the guy who recorded the ATM album miced the drum kit in a massive room using the mics two feet or more away from the kit... made the drums sound huge!

ja ive done lots of work on mic placements (i have a Merit at National Diploma in sound recording)

a nice sound we found for kick drum, which was punchy in the most vibrant frequencies yet had a smooth reinforcement all the way down to about 50hz was using an sm57 right on the kick itself and a TGX50 (cant remember who makes these right now)about a metre outside

Kunal wrote:

So did you all play live or do the separate tracks individually (if that makes sense)?

we always record all the instruments live, we literally cant play together if you dont and it would sound pretty dead too, we like recording our songs not long after we have written them so that we can improvised and variate in the studio, i find when a record is badly recorded in seperate parts it sounds really really obvious and weak

Kunal wrote:

first recording, it was all live, including vocals.

now we just record everything live and over dub the vocals!

don't think we could track each instrument, because like joe said, we also can't play without one another, much easier playing together.